Back to School Wreath

dsc_0023Well it is that time of year again.  Here in Virginia we start school tomorrow.  It is bitter-sweet.  I am so excited that my girls are returning to school, but I am not looking forward to all the “routine” again.  We have really enjoyed the fun, crazy, fly by the seat of your pants summer!

I wanted to mark the occasion of school starting with what else….a new wreath for my front door.  When all else fails on a creative funk day, make a wreath!  I found these old flash cards at a yard sale a few months ago.  I just loved the simple vintage design.  I picked them up for $1.00 and I knew I would make something.

dsc_0670I started with NO ideas at all.  I just laid them out on the table and stared at them.

I had a few cardboard cake bases.  I thought they would make a good size and shape for the wreath.

I simply started gluing them to the edges of the cardboard.  I knew I wanted three levels so I would have to stager the layers on each dsc_0674level.  I needed there to be height in between.  I didn’t show them, but I used empty ribbon spools.  They worked perfect!  Just the right height.  Once I got the layers going and added my height I realized it looked a little empty.  Okay what do you think of when you think back to school?  Paper, Pencils, glue….. Notebook paper.  That was it!  Notebook paper was the perfect filler.

dsc_0676I kept layering and layering and finally felt done.  I looked at it and thought it was missing something.  COLOR!  I added a few pencils in for color and made the center out of crinkled notebook paper.  I just added a cute little chalkboard to the center to complete the school theme.dsc_0020

I hope you have a wonderful school year.  Keep checking back for more posts.  I have taken a break for a while, but I will be working really hard to post every week.

Happy Junkin’

Pam

Leave a Reply

