Happy Valentine’s Day! XOXO

junktales Valentine 1

Sweet, Sweet Valentine

How I love you!

I always get the winter blues after Christmas.  I think a lot of us do.  This year I wanted to have some fun with Valentine’s Day decorations.

This is where I started….

I found this wonderful red and beige chevron fabric at Hobby Lobby back in November.   I  bought a yard of it not even knowing what I was going to use it for.  I do that WAY to often.  Does anyone else?

I have a collage of frames in the hall.  I like to switch it up during the holidays.  I took this wonderful fabric and covered one of the pictures.

Okay so what next?…..I had a very sweet friend bring me this Valentine banner as a gift.  It came from Target, I believe??

I love the felt and hearts, everything we think about when we think Valentine’s Day.

I didn’t want it to hang straight across, “BE MINE”

Anyone can do that, right?

So I wanted to incorporate it into this frame. I cut it to fit and there you go, Valentine art.

I have an awesome collection of vintage Valentine’s cards, that’s right I said AWESOME.

I love bringing them out every year to display and enjoy.

The big question is, how do you display them without ruining them.

This year I did a few different things;  I have an old window leaning on the table behind my Valentine art.  I used it as a shelf and perched my cards on top.

I love adding my glass jars to all of my table top creations.  This year I didn’t want to do the “conversation heart” candy that I had done for years.

I found a cute felt heart garland at the Dollar Store.  Once again I had no idea what I would do with it.  I thought that it would look cute hanging in the tallest jar.  I simply cut the garland into different length strips,  taped them to the lid of the jar, and let them hang down.

  It is an easy and inexpensive way to fill the jar.  I used half the garland and I think it looks great.

My last additon to this hallway was just another way to display my cards.  I LOVE this metal piece.

Debbie and I found it at our favorite local “junk yard.”  I think it was a bed rail once in it’s former life.  Maybe for a child’s bed??  All I know is I paid $2.00 for it and I use it in so many ways.

Valentine Card bed rail 2 I just used clothes pins and pinned the cards to the rail.  I leaned it against the wall next to the table and I was done.  I hope you enjoyed taking a peek!  Happy Valentines Day!

Valentine Card bed rail 1

I have many other projects on the way.  I have been working on a laundy room makeover.

I will post those pictures soon.

One thought on “Happy Valentine’s Day! XOXO

Leave a Reply

