Vintage Ornaments Mantel

junktales vintage mantel 1 Okay I know I have said it many many times, but VINTAGE ornaments…LOVE THEM!

This year I got a little crazy and pulled out the boxes and boxes of ornaments that I have collected and all of the many ornaments I have been given by my Mother-in-law.  My kids are finally getting old enough that I felt like I could put the ornaments on the mantel.  I am not sure this was a good idea yet, but so far so good.  Wish me luck on Christmas morning.

vintage mantel 3I have also found a new love for reindeer.  This year I am loving anything covered in glitter!  Really I am in love with anything covered in glitter year round, but at Christmas it just seems more acceptable.  I found some very cute little reindeer at Target for only $3.00.  I would not call myself a big box store shopper, but I just could not resist these little beauties.  I think they add some nice charm to the vintage collection.  They feel like they belong, you think?

junktales mantel 5There are a few little mercury trees in there also.  I am not sure where they came from.  Do you ever open your boxes of Christmas ornaments and think “Hummm that is new!  Where the heck did that come from?”  Okay maybe you don’t, but I do it every holiday with my decorations.

junktales mantel 4The only thing I bought “new” this year were the Charlie Brown type trees.  The kind of cute one in the middle.

I went to the new Goodwill just a couple of days ago, and there they were.  Now I have to say they were very ugly when I got them.  They have a red plastic base and there was an ugly gold bow on top.  I took the bow off and fluffed the tree.  I didn’t feel like painting the bottoms, so I just placed the trees in new containers.  One tree is in an old metal measuring cup and the other is in a vintage flour sifter.  I always pick those things up when I see them.  They come in handy for so many things.  Who knew they would make a great Christmas tree stand?

2012-11-30 17.36.18

ugly tree with base

I hope everyone has a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Please check back soon.  I have another project I am working on.  It involves an old Christmas coloring book, paint and frames.

Come back soon!

JUNK ON!

Pam

Leave a Reply

