Pottery Barn Cable Knit Sweater Pillow

ImageThere are a lot of things at Pottery Barn that I love, but for the past 2 winters I have been coveting their cable knit sweater pillows.  What I don’t love is the $69.50 pricetag.  So I finally came to the realization that I can make my own.  My wonderful husband helped by cleaning out his closet this weekend.  Voila…a free cream fisherman’s sweater!  I immediately went to work on this project.  Luckily, I had some pillows on hand that no longer match my decor.  All I did was center the pillow inside the sweater (make sure you do this with the sweater inside out).  Pin the sides snug to the pillow except on one side.  I chose to use the bottom of the sweater as the opening so I wouldn’t have to worry about the yarn coming undone.  Next I removed the sweater and sewed a simple stitch around my pins, again leaving the one side open.  I went ahead and did a second stitch around as well just in case the yarn unraveled.  Then I cut the pillow shape out of the sweater, turned it right side out, inserted my pillow and hand stitched the final opening.   Total cost of this project….FREE!

I want to make some more of these winter wonderful pillows so I will be heading out to the thrift store and Goodwill this week to see what I can find. 

Junk On!

Debbie

Leave a Reply

