A Junker’s Trip to the CIRCUS!

My daughter wanted to have a circus theme 11th birthday party.  I am so glad she is a planner.  She told me months in advance that was her desired theme.  I started looking at all of my favorite local thrift stores, flea markets and yard sales for anything I thought could be used to create the perfect circus for her special day.

I hit the jackpot one early spring morning at an annual community yard sale.  Debbie and I found a guy selling old games and circus programs.  PERFECT!  He had great stuff.

I bought 4 programs from the 1970s.  They had great graphics and colors.  LOVED them!

I wanted to hang them on the wall, but how do you do that?  I decided to use some old frames I found, at a yard sale for .50.  I sprayed them an antique white and rubbed them with a silver metallic paint.  I covered the backing with my favorite fabric ever, BURLAP!

I mounted the programs with floral spikes.  They worked great and stuck right into the foam backer.

I hung them in the hall for all to see.  I LOVE the way they turned out.

I really want everyone to see that you can make art for your home with ANYTHING!  If you find something you like, just go for it.  It doesn’t have to be something you would traditionally use.

If you love it, buy it and DIY!  Nothing is beyond the limits!

I hope you enjoy and have fun creating your own items.

JUNK ON!

Pam

Leave a Reply

