Ironing Board Coffee Table

After I met my parents at the Virginia Diner in Wakefield, VA  for lunch one afternoon (love those double dipped chocolate peanuts!), I was driving west on 460, and I spotted this fabulous bright yellow ironing board in front of a junk store.    When I actually got out of the car and saw the wonderful branded iron mark on the center, I knew it was mine!  I didn’t even have to haggle over the price as they clearly wanted me to take it by offering it at $2.00!  I didn’t know what I would do with a metal yellow ironing board that was leaking rusty water, but of course it HAD to come home with me.  I can only imagine how that iron burned into the metal.  Makes me think of a 70s housewife ironing while she’s watching soaps.  There must have been a big twist on that episode!  Or maybe she got distracted when the baby started crying.  I don’t know, but I love it.

So, I brought the ironing board home, and it sat in my garage for a couple of weeks.  I was debating using it as a buffet table in my dining room but decided it was too wobbly.  Then I came up with this idea to make it a coffee table on my back deck.  I love how it brings life to the area.  But of course, when I add something new like this, it makes for more projects!  Now I’m lookng for some ways to add pops of yellow to the area.  I’m thinking a rug and some pillows.  Who knows what I will find.  The hunt is the best part!

Wish I could remember the name of the store, but if you’re on 460 between Richmond and Wakefield, you can’t miss it.  It’s truly one of the junkiest junk stores I’ve ever seen!  You actually have to climb over stuff to get around outside and inside!  I will definately be making a trip back there so I’ll be sure to report back with the name.

JUNK ON!

Debbie

One thought on “Ironing Board Coffee Table

  1. oh it looks great. I’ve been to that store several times and it is always an adventure….one man’s trash……your treasure

Leave a Reply

