Bike Wheel Chandelier

People always say to me, “How do you know what to do with your yard sale JUNK?”  I guess I just don’t look at things the same way as the average person.  I have been going to yard sales as long as I can remember.  My Mom was always looking for a yard sale when I was a kid.  I remember when we found out about a new thrift store opening in our area, it was like Christmas morning. 

So let me tell you a little bit about how I found the items to create our first shared project.  In early spring all the yard sales began in my area.  I started out early one morning and found two old bike wheels, nothing to them but the rim.  The people selling them looked at me a bit odd when I snatched them up, but hey they were the ones selling them for $1.00. 

The jars were found at a flea market.  The sweet lady who sold them to me knew they were old blue Mason jars, she knew they had value, but she just wanted them GONE.  I was happy to take them away for a sweet low price of $1.50 a jar. 

So I end up at home with a box of jars and a bike wheel, and many more things, those we will discuss later. 

I wanted to make a big statement with my jars.  Summer was coming and I wanted to enjoy them outside…VOILA Chandelier.

I used 26 gage wire to create a ring around each jar’s neck and connected them in varying heights with the same wire to the bike wheel.  I loved the different levels of jars.  Once I was done playing with all the jars, I screwed (well my husband did) eyelets into the metal bike frame.  I connected chain and was almost ready to hang my new creation.  The final touch was the jute chair webbing.  I just didn’t like the modern look of the bike rim.  I hot glued the jute around the wheel.  Now…done. 

I hope you enjoy and have fun creating your own items.

JUNK ON!  

Pam

 

Leave a Reply

